April 26, 2010
There are many types of DUI offenses in Arizona. An Extreme DUI is based upon the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of the person accused; specifically, if the person has a BAC above .150, they will be charged with Extreme DUI under §28-1382 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.
Penalties for being convicted of an Extreme DUI charge can include:
- Driver License Suspension
- Incarceration (a term of jail)
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
- Substance abuse screening and recommended treatment
The minimum jail term, if convicted, for Extreme DUI is: 30 days. However, that does not necessary mean a person with a BAC of .150 or above will actually serve 30 days in jail. The specific circumstances, and the tactical actions of an attorney, may be able to change the outcome. The jurisdiction which the crime occurs may also play role in the ability to get a case dismissed or reduce a penalty. For example, the strategy in defending Phoenix DUI cases and Scottsdale DUI cases may drastically differ because of the different approaches that each of these cities prosecutes DUI cases.
If a person, has prior DUI conviction within the seven (7) years then the minimum penalty under Arizona law becomes: 120 days. Moreover, if the person’s BAC is .200 or greater that is considered another category of DUI. It is commonly named: Super Extreme DUI.
If you need assistance or additional information about a DUI or Vehicular Crimes case, please contact the Koplow Law Firm Online or by phone at (602) 494-3444.